Clinical Genomics Series for Women's Health: Insights into the use of lifestyle genetic testing in practice | Healthy Seminars

Clinical Genomics Series for Women's Health: Insights into the use of lifestyle genetic testing in practice

Home > Product > Clinical Genomics Series for Women's Health: Insights into the use of lifestyle genetic testing in practice

Clinical Genomics Series for Women's Health: Insights into the use of lifestyle genetic testing in practice

Speaker: 

products tabs

Live Online Webinar
Sunday April 26, 2020 8:30 am to 5:00 pm PDT
Add to Calendar
Pacific Standard Time PST/PDT (Vancouver BC, Los Angeles CA)

Early-bird price $100 until March 31st. Regular rate $150.


Even if you cannot make the scheduled time for the live webinar, you will still be able to watch the recordings. Video recordings of the live webinar are placed into your account within 48 hours of the class, so the course will be waiting for you to watch when you are ready.


Live webinars fulfil all 50 hours of live CEUs for California. You have 2 years access to the recording to complete for CEU/PDA.

 

Live Webinar: 8:30 am PDT, Thursday, April 16, 2020.
START TIME FOR DIFFERENT TIME ZONES:
  • Honolulu, HI, USA HST (UTC -10) Thur, Apr 26, 2020, 5:30 am - 2:00 pm
  • Denver, CO, USA MST (UTC -7) Thur, Apr 26, 2020, 9:30 am - 6:00 pm
  • Houston, TX, USA CST (UTC -6) Thur, Apr 26, 2020, 10:30 am - 7:00 pm
  • New York, NY, USA EST (UTC -5) Thur, Apr 26, 2020, 11:30 am - 8:00 pm
  • London, United Kingdom GMT (UTC +0) Thur, Apr 26, 2020, 4:30 pm - 1:00 am
  • Tel Aviv, Israel IST (UTC +3) Thur, Apr 26, 2020, 6:30 pm - 3:00am
  • Sydney, Australia AEDT (UTC +11) Fri, Apr 27, 2020, 1:30 am - 10:00 am
  • Auckland, New Zealand NZDT (UTC +13) Fri, Apr 27, 2020, 3:30 am - 12:00 pm
Dr. Robyn Murphy, ND delivers an exciting dive into the clinical application of lifestyle genetic testing. She provides a comprehensive education that comprises of everything from the basics of genetics to the practical clinical application, including labs, its predictive value and influence on treatment strategies. Learn how to apply genetic testing related to personalized nutrition, hormone balance and detoxification through the lens of women’s health. Discuss real cases, protocols, receive resources and strategies to effectively introduce genetic testing into your practice to improve patient outcomes and stay current with the evolution of medicine.

Goals and Objectives

  • Clinician will have an understanding into how lifestyle/nutritional genetics impacts infertility. Areas include personalized nutrition, hormone dysfunction and sensitivity to detoxification through the lens of women’s health. Discuss real cases, protocols and receive resources and strategies.
  • Understand the application of genetic testing in clinical practice in relation to predicting disease, additional lab testing, and individual treatment.
  • Understand limitation of genetic testing and determine appropriate genetic companies for clinical application.

Course Outline

  • Part 1 – Introduction into Genetics (1.0 CEU – 60 minutes)
    • Genetics overview
    • Application of genetics in clinical practice
    • Epigenetics and environment – genes interactions
  • Part 2 – Nutrigenomics
    • Understand how genetics impacts nutrient absorption, transport, metabolism and utilization.
    • Genetic variants, vitamin A and estrogen
    • Methylation and fertility
    • Using nutrigenomics for personalized nutrition/dosing
  • Part 3 – Hormone dysfunction
    • Review steroidogenesis and genetics variants that influence hormone balance
    • Impact on female related hormone dysfunction: PCOS, infertility, endometriosis
    • Case presentation
  • Part 4 – Environmental toxins, Genetic impact on Detoxification and insights into chronic disease
    • Effect of genetic variants on phase I and phase II biotransformation
    • Endocrine disruptors, gene expression and their impact on disease
    • Case presentation
  • Part 5 – Practical Approach to Genetic testing
    • How to apply genetic testing to a case
    • Direct to consumer testing – how to choose a reliable company
    • Step by step plan of applying genetic testing into clinical practice – where to start, follow up labs, program development
    • Case presentation, Q&A
Dr. Robyn Murphy is a practicing Naturopathic Doctor at the Centre for Restorative Medicine, public speaker, and researcher in the field of functional genomics, with a passion for educating both healthcare professionals and the public in advances of integrative medicine. She has a number of publications in medical journals and is currently the Clinical Research Advisor for AOR and sits on the Scientific Advisory Board for DNA Labs Canada. Dr. Murphy holds a Bachelor of Science from the University of Alberta and Doctor of Naturopathic Medicine from CCNM, with advanced training and certifications in functional gastroenterology, hormone therapy (BHRT), biological medicine and advanced medical herbalism. She is licensed through the College of Naturopaths of Ontario (CONO).


$100.00 USD